Our titles in most cases are always available for those interested individuals who desire to purchase a copy & support our efforts. Thanks for this act of Kindness. AWF
Cornwall Map Key Cornwall Township Map
Historical Sites of Cornwall Township
The following is taken from a little phamplet put out by the Cornwall Township Historical Society .
| THE CORNWALL TOWNSHIP HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Don McIntosh, 16615 County Rd 36, Long Sault, ON, K0C 1P0 tel # 613 534-2075
Built between 1839 - 1840, the family erected a high board fence for protection against intruders and lived in the basement while the house was under construction The original stone fireplaces and the hand hewn beams that support the ceiling can still be seen in the interior. Privately owned the building is not open to the public.
The original single storied building was built in 1843 as a convent boarding/day school,
and was burnt down about 1900. The present building was constructed between 1906-1908,
using much of the. original stone.
The "Grey Nuns", of Ottawa operated the school from 1847-1851, followed by the Sisters
of Notre Dame of Montreal from 1885-1918 and the Sisters of St. Joseph from Peterborough
from 1918-1976. The convent was closed in 1976.
In 1978 the building was designated a Heritage Building. It now contains museum and
is the head-quarters of Cornwall Township Historical Society
OPEN SUNDAYS . 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
July 4 To
For group tours or other information, phone 613-933-4072 or 613-938-8947
Gothic in style, it was designed by architect John Power of Kingston and built in 1860 by James Mathews of Montreal. Its dimensions are 115 x 55 ft. (55 x 16.6 mts.) the bell tower and spire measure 212 ft. (64 mts.). The interior contains beautiful plaster and sculpture work by Zepherine Perrault of Montreal. The statue to St. John at the West altar is considered to be one of the finest examples of his work.
Built as a church in 1798 - 18O1 by the early settlers under the leadership of the Rev. Roderick MacDonald [I think this should read Rev. Roderick MacDonell not Rev. Roderick MacDonald - AF]. It is one of the oldest remaining stone structures, in the province, erected as a church. Members of the North West Company and affluent community members donated money towards its construction. Briefly converted into a hospital during the War of 1812, it continued in use as a church until 1860.
A replica of the original Catholic, log church, built around 1784/85 by Gaelic speaking Highland Scots, stands in the pioneer graveyard at St. Andrews West close to the initial site. The original structure is thought to have been one of the first Catholic churches built in Upper Canada. St. Andrews West is believed to be one of the oldest parishes in the diocese according to Clive and Francis Marin. The building of the replica was sponsored by Cornwall Township Historical Society arid financed by private, donation
Believed to be one of the oldest cemeteries in Ontario, it was closed to burials in 1915. The stone monument, the surrounding wall and the gate were built by the Provincial Government in 1938.
Buried in the cemetery are Captain "Spanish" John MacDonell, soldier of fortune in Spain and aide to the Stuart court in France: Simon Fraser the famous explorer, and John Sandfield Macdonald the first Premier of Ontario.
When Simon Fraser, the famous explorer, retired from the North West Co. in 1817, he settled on 240 acres of land located about 4 kms. west of the village of St. Andrews. He built a saw and grist mill, and farmed the land. In 1820 he married Catherine MacDonell, daughter of Allan MacDonell (Leek), they had a total of eight children. He and his wife continued to live on the farm until they both died in 1862. In 1921 the Hudson's Bay Company erected this marble monument over their grave in the pioneer graveyard at St. Andrews West.
John Sandfield Macdonald, Prime Minister of the Province of Canada 1862-64, the first Premier of Ontario and Attorney General 1867-1872.
Born at St. Raphaels in Glengarry County in 1812, he eloped with Marie
Christine Waggaman, the daughter of a wealthy senator, in September 1840. They were first married in New York, a second marriage was performed in the church at Andrews West on Oct. 26, 1840.
Macdonald established a thriving law practice in Cornwall and was first elected as M.L.A. for Glengarry in 1841 He died at his "Ivy Hall" in Cornwall in June 1872.
This recently restored inn was built in 1865 by John Sandfield Macdonald as a hotel and tavern. Located on what was once the main stage-coach route between Montreal, Kingston and Toronto known variously as the Line Road, the King's Road or Dundas Street. It was Macdonald's wish that the basement of the hotel be kept for use by the parishioners for the. serving of lunches after weddings and funerals.
The building continued in operation as a hotel until it was gutted by fire in 1879. It was purchased by William arid Elizabeth Masterson in 1895 who it is believed, renovated the interior. The building opened under their management as a store, barber's shop and post office a few years later. It continued as a general store until 1989 when it was purchased and historically restored by its present owners.
Believed to have been built in 1878, it is thought that Sir John A. McDonald, the first Prime Minister of Canada, stayed here while electioneering. It later became a general store and post office until rural mail delivery superseded its postal use. Now privately owned, the building is not open to the public.